Eagle Firearms Rotating Header Image

washington

Washington: Freedom Prevails in Olympia – Anti-Gun Legislation Dead for 2013

Taken from an ILA E-Mail I just received:

“Freedom has prevailed again in Olympia! Yesterday was the deadline for legislation to be voted out of its chamber of origin. Thanks to your hard work and relentless opposition, House Bill 1588 failed to come up for a vote on the House floor. The fate of the so-called “universal background check” legislation and your rights came down to the wire.
On Tuesday, the state House of Representatives came to a halt for more than seven hours as House Democrats tried to round up enough votes to pass this anti-gun measure. As NRA-ILA previously reported, HB 1588 could have criminalized all private sales of firearms.

HB 1588, introduced by state Representative Jamie Pederson (D-43), was nothing more than a regulatory scheme that would have created a huge burden for law-abiding citizens, been unenforceable, and ignored by criminals. This bill was nothing more than a precursor to Universal Firearm REGISTRATION.

Your participation in the legislative process was essential to this victory! Although your Second Amendment rights were defended in Olympia during this round, the attack on your inherent right to self-defense and right to keep and bear arms is far from over. Gun owners and sportsmen must remain vigilant in order to preserve our freedoms!
The following anti-gun bills are also dead for this session:
House Bill 1676, introduced by state Representative Ruth Kagi (D-32), a so-called “child access prevention” bill which would have singled out the storage of firearms for criminalization under certain circumstances.
House Bill 1703, introduced by state Representative Laurie Jinkins (D-27), would have levied an outrageous tax on all firearm and ammunition purchases to create more bureaucracy in the form of a “firearm safety” education program.
Senate Bill 5737, introduced by state Senators Ed Murray (D-43) and Jeanne Kohl-Welles (D-36), would have banned commonly owned firearms mischaracterized as “assault weapons” and magazines that hold more than ten rounds. This extreme measure would have also allowed in-home inspections by law enforcement.

Olympia Considering End to Department of Fish & Wildlife

This is a re-post of an email from the NRA-ILA notifications I get. Interesting stuff.

The Senate budget released this week would zero out the Washington Department of Fish & Wildlife (WDFW) budget and transfer all WDFW functions to the Department of Natural Resources (DNR) in a merger of the two agencies. Further, it would reduce by $10.5 million the amount spent on the functions that have been handled by WDFW.

To those involved in the shooting sports, the net result of such a transfer of authority would likely be devastating. Gun owners and sportsmen have been fighting DNR for years with regard to shooting and hunting on DNR land. Leadership in DNR is, at best, indifferent to the interests of sportsmen and, more likely, hostile and antagonistic.

The majority of hunters and sportsmen in Washington State agreed last year to surcharges on their licenses to keep important WDFW functions in place. Every hunting (and fishing) program and every dedicated fund is at risk for reduction or termination. Sportsmen’s support of the department could be wiped out if the Senate Budget is allowed to advance with the merger language in it.

It is critical that hunters and sportsmen contact the members of the Senate Ways & Means Committee immediately! Tell them to OPPOSE THE MERGER OF WDFW INTO DNR! Please leave messages for your Senator and Representatives, as well.

Following are the email addresses for the 22 members of the Senate Ways & Means Committee, including Senator Rodney Tom who is the author of the merger effort:

State Senator Margarita Prentice (Chair) – prentice.margarita@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Karen Fraser (Vice-Chair, Capital Budget) – fraser.karen@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Rodney Tom (Vice Chair, Operating Budget) – tom.rodney@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Joseph Zarelli (Ranking Minority) – zarelli.joseph@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Dale Brandland – brandland.dale@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Mike Carrell – carrell.michael@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Darlene Fairley – fairley.darlene@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Mike Hewitt – hewitt.mike@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Steve Hobbs – hobbs.steve@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Jim Honeyford – honeyford.jim@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Karen Keiser – keiser.karen@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Adam Kline – kline.adam@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Jeanne Kohl-Welles – kohl-welles.jeanne@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Joe McDermott – mcdermott.joe@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Ed Murray – murray.edward@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Eric Oemig – oemig.eric@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Linda Evans Parlette – parlette.linda@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Cheryl Pflug – pflug.cheryl@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Craig Pridemore – pridemore.craig@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Debbie Regala – regala.debbie@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Phil Rockefeller – rockefeller.phil@leg.wa.gov
State Senator Mark Schoesler – schoesler.mark@leg.wa.gov

Turnout heavy in opposition to WA ‘assault weapon’ bill

Just cross-linking this article for those of you tracking the new “assualt weapon” ban bill in Washington State. If you actually read this bill is the most ridiculous thing I’ve seen in a long time, its so much more than an assault weapon ban..and they can’t even define assault weapon properly.

http://www.examiner.com/x-4525-Seattle-Gun-Rights-Examiner~y2010m1d26-Turnout-heavy-in-opposition-to-WA-assault-weapon-bill-Bellevue-police-chief-plays-politics

[Bill 6396]